Upgrade Windows 8 Pro to Windows 8.1 Pro manually – Can’t find 8.1 update in Windows Store – KMS version issue – Activation Issue

***Update – Looks like there is some sort of activation error after you update to 8.1, so proceed with caution***

***Update – I got to activate my copy of Windows 8.1 Pro, please see below*** Updated on 10/18/2013 @ 4:46pm eastern time.

YO!

Want to upgrade to Windows 8.1 Pro FROM Windows 8 Pro?

Have you done all your updates and prerequisites as requested by Microsoft? http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-8/update-from-windows-8-tutorial

STILL don’t see the Windows 8.1 update on the front page of the Windows Store??? Do you only see this??

Image

Well that’s probably because the version of Windows 8 Pro you’re using is installed by an Enterprise using KMS activation……..like me!

Image

Don’t panic, you can still upgrade, you’re just going to have to get your hands on the actual Windows 8.1 Pro ISO/Image/Disc

Luckily I have access to an ISO which was made available today for Microsoft Volume Licensing customers, so if you’re in the same boat as me, you probably have some sort of access to the VLSC portal. If you don’t you’re going to want to contact whoever installed Windows 8 on your device in the first place.

Here is a pic of the ISO

Image

A Simple double-click on the ISO will mount it (if your using Windows 8)

After double-clicking the ISO file, navigate to “Computer” and you should see something like this:

Image

You’re going to want to launch “setup”. You’ll probably get a security pop-up, go ahead and run it, or accept or whatever!

You’ll then see this:

Image

Let’s go ahead and listen to Microsoft here and download and install any updates that the Windows 8.1 installer is asking for, it’s the default option anyway.

Image

Click Next.

Image

After the “Getting updates” Window you’ll be prompted to agree to the License Terms:

Click Agree, then “Accept”

Image

The next prompt asks you to “Choose what to keep” you have 3 options.

Image

Your choices are pretty self-explanatory however, clicking on the “Help me decide” link will show you some more info:

Image

So since I’m running this on my main desktop (used for work/personal/play) I’m going to want to run the Upgrade Assistant just to make sure that all my desktop applications and devices will be compatible with 8.1. Follow this link to download and run it:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-8/coming-soon

Image

Clicking on “Download Windows 8” will start this download:

Image

Save it on the desktop so its easy to get to.

Image

Double-click to launch the Upgrade Assistant (you can leave your current Windows 8.1 setup running in the background)

The Upgrade Assistant will check your current Windows installation for compatible applications and devices.

Here is what my results looked like:

Image

Thankfully most of my Devices and Applications are compatible, so I’m going to go ahead and finish my installation.

When you’re done with the upgrade assistant you can just “X” it off.

Image

Now getting back to the setup. I’m going to choose “Keep Windows settings, personal files, and apps” then click Next

Image

You should now see this:

Image

After the 8.1 setup is done “making sure” it will prompt you to install….

Now I’m going to cross my fingers and click “Install”

Image

You should now see this window:

Image

I’ve start my installation at exactly 8:50 PM so we’ll see how long it takes for me.

During the installation your PC/Laptop will restart several times, you’ll see these following screens as the installation goes on:

Image

Image

Image

Your PC will restart again and you will come to this screen:

Image

I chose “Use Express settings”

The next Window asked me to sign in to my Microsoft account, so I went ahead and did that.

Image

I was then prompted for a security check, I have my Microsoft account tied to my cell phone so by doing this a text with a security code was sent to my phone.

Image

I successfully received the text and then input the code provided by Microsoft:

Image

One the security check was complete, I was then brought to this final setup screen:

Image

When that was finished I was brought to my new Start Screen! GREAT SUCCESS!!!!

Image

Hope you found this helpful

Ciao for now!

****ACTIVATION****

I wasn’t able to automatically activate Widows 8.1 after the update, I kept getting this error:

A networking problem has occurred. (Error code 0xC004FC03)

After some digging around I found the following Microsoft Article: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-CA/windows-8/activation-errors

What I did:

-Open an elevated CMD prompt

cmd-open

-Type SLUI 04

cmd-promt

-Press enter

This Window should now open:

slui-country

-Select your country then click “Next”

You will then be provided with an installation ID, depending if you already had a license key installed. In my case I had used a MAK key because I am a volume license customer.

slui-ID

You will need to call Microsoft’s automated activation center, you should be provided with a phone number on the screen depending on which country you live in.

So if you legitimately are a volume license customer, you should be able to go through this process.

When on the phone with Microsoft’s automated activation center, you will be given a confirmation code which you will input after clicking “Enter confirmation ID” as seen on the above screen shot.

slui-enter-confirm

If you entered in the correct confirmation ID you should be able to activate Windows 8.1, in my case it was successful.

activation-result

Thanks

-Vinny

30 responses to “Upgrade Windows 8 Pro to Windows 8.1 Pro manually – Can’t find 8.1 update in Windows Store – KMS version issue – Activation Issue

  1. thanks..i found one..
    i just hope its an untouched iso
    im gonna try what you did 🙂
    thanks for the info by the way 🙂

  2. hi again..
    if i am not a VL customer
    will there be a problem if i install something like this on my laptop?
    or i cant install it because its only for VL customers..
    thanks again

    • I wouldn’t, you may get an error. But I would be more worried about not being able to activate Windows and problems with the license key itself. Are you currently running Windows 7 or 8?

  3. ohk chalo i got it . then u will nt provide … bt that whtas the solution . for dis … 4 dose running windows 8 by kms activated …………… pleass do tll . its imprtnt for me …

  4. Hi there!
    I somehow am not offered the first option “Keep Windows settings, personal files, and apps” in “Choose what to keep” dialog window, and i don’t want to loose/reinstall my apps. Any idea, how to rectify this?
    Thanks!

    • From what I can make out (This isn’t MySpace. It would help if you used real words.), it seems like you’re saying that it’s NOT a legit version of Windows. If that’s the case, you won’t find any help here. If it is a legit copy, where is the license from?

      Also… Has anyone determined if this will work with a non-volume version of Win 8 Pro? I got the system builder version, which, at least when I got it, was how Win 8 Pro was being sold. Is there ANY way to do a non-“Store” upgrade, since I’m unable to install anything from the Windows Store. (And I never use it, since I don’t use the Metro (or whatever) interface.)

      TIA!

Leave a comment